Natalie Osten, Fish Hook

Natalie Osten

Natalie is a software developer. She is a developer at Fish Hook. She also became one of the organizers of App Camp For Girls after meeting AC4G founder Jean MacDonald  at the 2012 WWDCgirls lunch.

  • What do you currently do?

I write iPhone and iPad apps with a start up company based out of Atlanta called Fish Hook. I enjoy it because I get to design and build apps for all sorts of clients.

  • How did you get started in Mac and/or iOS programming?

I was working for Apple and trying to decide what I wanted to do next. I went out with a friend that had left Apple to work for a small start up doing data recovery on failed hard drives. I picked his brain for most the evening about how I could use my arts background ( I have a degree in painting not computer science) and my technical background from Apple. He called me a week later and asked if I was interested in learning to code. 6 months later I left Apple to start Fish Hook with him

  • What was the first app you created and what did it do? (Even if it was something really basic, aspiring developers will be interested in how you got started.

My first app took still images of an object and flipped through them. The result made the object look like the object was spinning. You could flick it with your finger to speed it up or stop it.

  • Where did you get the idea for the app?

There is an app for the iPad about minerals and the periodic table. I think it won a design award a few years ago. I had a debate with a friend about how they made the different minerals spin ad decided to see if my idea could make a bunch of still images look like a 3d object.

  • What went well? What could have gone better?

My photography skills – taking photos of a bottle of hot sauce while turning it 2 degrees at a time was tedious but it paid off.
Getting the momentum and gravity correct was much more difficult than I thought it would be.

  • What is your favorite among the apps you’ve developed?

I worked on a project for a company that creates curriculums for teachers. We built an app that let’s the teachers document the student’s progress from their iPad or iPhone with photos, video and audio clips that they record.
The feedback from the teachers about how much easier their lives were because of our app really made me feel like I’d made something that makes a difference.

  • What advice do you have for young people who want to make apps?

Be a sponge soak up as much as you can and don’t ever let someone tell you that you can’t learn something.

Follow Natalie on Twitter and App.net.

Help more girls learn software development. Contribute to the App Camp For Girls Indiegogo fundraiser, get a cool perk, and enjoy the feeling of having helped the next generation of software developers.

Leave a Reply

