Ash Furrow, Teehan+Lax

ashfurrow

Ash develops applications for iOS at Teehan+Lax.

  • What do you currently do?

I’m an iOS developer at Teehan+Lax, a digital agency in Toronto.

  • How did you get started in Mac and/or iOS programming?

I started when I was still in university back in 2009. I wanted to do something new and interesting, and the touch interface of an iPhone seemed like just the right fit. I used Christmas break’s long, contiguous free time to really dive in and learn all I could.

  • What was the first app you created and what did it do?

The first app I ever developed was a timing application to help users make fancy coffee. It taught me the basics of view controllers, table views, and localization. Recently, I rewrote that application to make an eBook stepping beginners through the process of writing their first iOS app.

  • Where did you get the idea for the app?

I wanted to develop something that I would use myself – I think that’s important. I was using the microwave to help time my coffee press, but thought I could make an interface that was more compelling.

  • What went well? What could have gone better?

It went really well! I ended up getting a student WWDC scholarship in 2010 which jumpstarted my iOS career. I wish that I had iterated a little more on the application after launching instead of moving directly onto new things, though.

  • What is your favorite among the apps you’ve developed?

My favourite is probably the 500px app. I’m a photographer and making an application for photography lovers was a blast. My favourite part of developing the application was getting to work so closely with the team’s designers. I learned a lot about how to make immersive interfaces.

  • What advice do you have for young people who want to make apps?

Don’t be afraid to ask silly questions. It’s hard to do when you don’t even know if the question you’re asking makes sense, but I’ve always found that people are willing to help. Never be afraid to reach out to the experts and ask for help.

Follow Ash on Twitter and App.net.

Help more girls learn software development. Contribute to the App Camp For Girls Indiegogo fundraiser, get a cool perk, and enjoy the feeling of having helped the next generation of software developers.

Leave a Reply

