Victoria Wang, Software Developer

victoria wang appstories

Victoria is a software developer and wrote Hibari, a Twitter app for OS X.

  • What do you currently do?

I’m a self-employed designer/developer who works on Cocoa and web apps.

  • How did you get started in Mac and/or iOS programming?

I was an art person who never dreamed that I’d be engineering anything, but when I was 12 my mom taught me HTML and I got sucked into building artsy websites—it was so much fun! Later on I discovered a very beautiful programming language, Ruby, and I ended up majoring in Computer Science. When I got my first Mac, I started making desktop apps. It’s very rewarding to design software for such an elegant platform.

  • What was the first app you created and what did it do?

My first Mac app was a time zone converter.

victoria wang time converter

  • Where did you get the idea for the app?

I was working remotely as a web designer who had to attend a lot of online meetings scheduled by people in other time zones. This gave me an easy way to figure out the corresponding local time and add the meeting to my calendar.

  • What went well? What could have gone better?

I don’t remember the specifics for this app, but in general it’s always funny to discover what features end up being ridiculously easy, like a single checkbox in Interface Builder, and then there’s always features that don’t seem complicated but end up taking a month.

  • What is your favorite among the apps you’ve developed?

A Twitter client called Hibari. There are a lot of Twitter clients out there, but I had some unique needs and design ideas. It was neat to be able to create a very personal app and find that a lot of other people loved it too.

victoria wang appstorieshibari

  • What advice do you have for young people who want to make apps?

Come up with a very simple concept at first, and ship it with the barest minimum requirements! Find the local programmer meetings in your area and talk to everyone. The connections you make will help you out a lot. I’m an introvert, but I work at being as outgoing as possible and it has become easier over time. It can be kind of intimidating at first if you’re a young woman, because you might be the only woman there. And weirdly, there will be men who will be more intimidated by you than you are intimidated about being in a room full of men. Don’t take it personally! Join a women’s developer mailing list like devchix.com and you won’t have to feel like you’re going it alone. Maintain a blog and be on Twitter.

Follow Victoria on Twitter.

Help more girls learn software development. Contribute to the App Camp For Girls Indiegogo fundraiser, get a cool perk, and enjoy the feeling of having helped the next generation of software developers.

Leave a Reply

