Benedict Fritz, FadingRed

Benedict is a software developer at FadingRed.

  • What do you currently do?

I’m currently a Mac and iOS developer for FadingRed. Right now I’m working on a mixture of client work and a new product that we’ve been working on internally.

  • How did you get started in Mac and/or iOS programming?

I studied computer science in college, and was hired by FadingRed out of school. They were incredibly patient with me as I learned Mac and iOS programming on the job!

  • What was the first app you created and what did it do?

The first thing I remember making was a calculator for the Mac. It was a simple app, but it was a great learning experience as it forced me to learn a lot of the Mac development patterns. It was extremely simple as I think it only did addition and subtraction.

  • Where did you get the idea for the app?

It was a suggested learning activity after I had been working towards learning Objective-C for a couple weeks.

  • What went well? What could have gone better?

What went well was that I made something! I think that’s the most important thing when you’re starting out, is just to make something, anything. Don’t worry about it being unique, special, or even good. Just force yourself to do something and you’ll learn so much. So while the app wasn’t good, I don’t know that it could have gone any better. It looked horrible and barely worked, but it was something I made, and the best I could do at the time.

  • What is your favorite among the apps you’ve developed?

brittany koku

My favorite app I’ve worked on is Koku, a personal finance app. I did a lot of work on the budgets feature that we added, and my work on it is definitely the most polished and comprehensive thing I’ve ever contributed to a piece of software.

  • What advice do you have for young people who want to make apps?

Just start doing it! Don’t be afraid to mess up – no matter what you do your computer won’t blow up. You’ll feel like you don’t know what you’re doing, but try to learn to embrace that feeling. Things are constantly changing, and the most important skill you can learn is learning how to learn. Don’t give up and one day you’ll look back and see all the progress you’ve made, even if that progress is hard to see on a day-to-day basis.

Follow Benedict on Twitter and App.net.

Help more girls learn software development. Contribute to the App Camp For Girls Indiegogo fundraiser, get a cool perk, and enjoy the feeling of having helped the next generation of software developers.

Leave a Reply

