Jay Graves, Double Encore

jay graves

  • What do you currently do?

I am the CTO at Double Encore which means I am responsible for the engineers on both the iOS and Android teams. I speak at conferences and blog for the Double Encore Insights.

  • How did you get started in Mac and/or iOS programming?

I was primarily a web developer and was very interested in building new social networks. When the iPhone was released it was apparent that that was the way people were going to be interacting online. I started building iOS apps to support the social networks I was building.

  • What was the first app you created and what did it do?

The last social network I built was geared towards fashion. It was called Coathangr and it really needed a mobile app so people could post pictures of their clothes while on the go. So I built the Coathangr iOS app as my first mobile project.

  • Where did you get the idea for the app?

My friend, Dave Wiskus, came up with the idea one night. He said “Twitter asks, what are you doing? Brightkite asks, where are you? We need to ask, What are you wearing?”

  • What went well? What could have gone better?

Building this app taught me a lot. Having a real life project to drive you to learn and solve problems is a huge advantage. I really wish I had built this app “the right way”. I took shortcuts because getting something out quicker was more important than learning how Objective-C really worked.

  • What is your favorite among the apps you’ve developed?

I love the MLS MatchDay app for iPhone and iPad. It has been so fun to architect and design a Universal application that delivers so much to fans.

  • What advice do you have for young people who want to make apps?

Learn “the right way” to do things and try not to cut corners. Seek out people who have gone before you and learn from them. Get involved in structured learning like AppCamp4Girls or Pragmatic Studio (where I learned) or just pick up a good book and read it all the way through. This was my first one.

Follow Jay on Twitter and App.net.

Help more girls learn software development at App Camp For Girls.

2 thoughts on “Jay Graves, Double Encore

  1. Pingback: CTO Jay Graves Shares His Advice for Beginning Programmers

Leave a Reply

